#4

So then: my entry for the Sketchbook Project 2012 is finally complete and I felt like ranting about it.
Quick recap about what is the Sketchbook Project: after signing up for the project and paying a *little* sum of money, the Brooklyn Art Library sends you a blank sketchbook which you’re supposed to fill in according to a theme you’ve chosen at the moment that you joined it. Once your sketchbook is complete, you send it back at the Brooklyn Art Library and it will be collected along with all the other participants’ sketchbooks and be exhibited to the public. (There are still a few sketchbook available if you happen to be interested; click.)

My sketchbook came in the mail May 13, 2011. The theme I chose is The Grey Side of Life. In spite for my love for colors, I’m deeply fascinated by black & white photography, and the reason why I picked that theme was because I thought I could have easily filled in the sketchbook with monochrome pictures and the job would have been done. Not very surprisingly, once the sketchbook arrived, this idea seemed like crap to me and I instantly archived it. So for a very, very long time I wasn’t able to figure out what would have become of it. After months of brainstorming and collecting ideas here and there, I finally had an epiphany.
Grey is what’s in between, and in regards of life it’s the bittersweet aspect of it; it represents those things that make pop out a sad smile on your face.
So that’s it, that’s the thought I followed while filling the sketchbook and I must say, I’m quite happy with it, I like how it turned out.

If you’re interested, here my profile on the art house co-op, where I’ve uploaded my favorite pages of the sketchbook: click.

One thought on “#4

  1. I think it’s a really cool sketchbook, and I specially like the idea of “the sad smile” you had on your mind creating the pages… it’s really inspiring, I’d love to check it out physically if I was in the Brooklyn library 🙂

Leave a Reply

