#3

A year ago, I stumbled upon Wreck This Journal for the first time. Probably like half of the people who sees it for the first time, I was a bit confused about its purpose. Long story short, I googled it and a flash of inspiration hit me; it had to be mine. Being a bookworm and a desperate wannabe artist it was the perfect union of everything I love. As soon as I ordered it, I already started planning in my head all the amazing thing I could have done on the pages, all my ideas seemed like pure gold and I was beyond excited to start working on it. It wasn’t long until I could finally have it in my hand and it was the same moment when my mind went completely blank: all my golden ideas turned out to be predictable and boring and for some unknown reason my creative boost faded away. My poor WTJ got dusty on a shelf for a while before I was able to work on it being fully aware of what I was doing. (Yeah, I know. Sometimes I tend to analyze things too much – but I hate sloppy things, I can’t help it.)

I could honestly write a book about how amazing WTJ is and as stupid, obvious or whatever it may sound, on how deeply it changed my approach on art and creativity. I owe a lot to Keri Smith and this book; I’ve always loved art and such things, though I abandoned this passion during my life due to lack of inspiration and a very low self confidence. If lately my drawers are getting filled with art supplies and my sketchbooks have few blank pages left, it’s also largely thanks to them. (Having a lovely super supportive boyfriend is not bad either!)

This WTJ has been my loyal companion for a little less than a year, and now that it’s complete I feel like a part of me is missing. However this feeling won’t last long since I already¬† have a brand new WTJ that awaits me, yay! I’m afraid I developed an addiction, but I regret nothing.

old & new

One thought on “#3

Leave a Reply

